follow us on...

MLL draft: UVA’s Stanwick (Loyola Blakefield) taken in 2nd pick by Ohio; Bayhawks select Costabile 5th

Saturday, 14th January 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Pro, Posted 1/14/12

Virginia’s Steele Stanwick (Loyola Blakefield) was taken by the Ohio Machine with the second pick of the Major League Lacrosse draft Friday night at the Downtown Marriott in Philadelphia

Stanwick was the Tewaaraton Trophy winner in 2011 when he led the Cavaliers to the NCAA championship. He was a USILA first-team All-American and the Atlantic Coast Conference Player of the Year as he collected 32 goals and 38 assists.

The Chesapeake Bayhawks picked Duke long pole C.J. Costabile with the No. 5 overall selection. Costabile was a USILA All-America third team selection, was named All-ACC and led the Blue Devils with 95 ground balls.

2012 MLL Draft
Pick Team Player School

1 Long Island (1) Rob Pannell Cornell
2 Ohio Steele Stanwick Virginia
3 Rochester Mike Manley Duke
4 Denver (2) Mark Matthews Denver
5 Chesapeake C.J. Costabile Duke
6 Denver Colin Briggs Virginia
7 Hamilton Chad Wiedmaier Princeton
8 Ohio (3) Robert Rotanz Duke

9 Charlotte Justin Turri Duke
10 Chesapeake (4) Tyler Fiorito Princeton
11 Rochester Roy Lang Cornell
12 Hamilton (2) Jake Bernhardt Maryland
13 Rochester (5) Kevin Drew Syracuse
14 Denver Kevin Vaughan Harvard
15 Boston (6) Chris Boland Johns Hopkins
16 Ohio (3) Anthony Biscardi Massachusetts

17 Rochester (1) Joe Cummings Maryland
18 Long Island (4) Sam Bradman Salisbury
19 Boston (7) Kevin Cunningham Villanova
20 Charlotte (2) Mark Manos Drexel
21 Ohio (5) Billy Eisenreich Bucknell
22 Chesapeake (8) Jimmy Dunster North Carolina
23 Hamilton Jack McBride North Carolina
24 Ohio (3) Alex Demopoulos Denver

25 Rochester (1) Bobby Dattilo Hobart
26 Chesapeake (9) Matt Mackrides Penn State
27 Chesapeake (7) Grant Kaleikau Delaware
28 Long Island Tommy Palasek Syracuse
29 Charlotte (10) Chris Bocklet Virginia
30 Denver Tom Celentani Massachusetts
31 Hamilton Matt Lovejoy Virginia
32 Boston Mark Staines North Carolina

33 Denver (1) Steve Serling Hofstra
34 Ohio Bobby Eilers Syracuse
35 Rochester Tim Henderson Army
36 Long Island Kyle Moeller Stony Brook
37 Boston (5) Will Koshansky Penn
38 Chesapeake (8) Matt Gibson Yale
39 Hamilton Joe Resetarits Albany
40 Boston Chris Clements Virginia

41 Charlotte Dan DiMaria Harvard
42 Ohio Chris Langton Cornell
43 Rochester Carter Bender Hartford
44 Denver (2) Steven Robarge VMI
45 Chesapeake Drew Snider Maryland
46 Denver John Cunningham Princeton
47 Hamilton Brock Sorenson Ohio State
48 Boston J.J. Gilbane Cornell

49 Charlotte Kevin Randall Notre Dame
50 Ohio Marshall Burkhart Johns Hopkins
51 Rochester Charlie McComas North Carolina
52 Long Island Charlie Streep Bucknell
53 Chesapeake Brent Adams Fairfield
54 Denver Charlie Cipriano Fairfield
55 Hamilton Kiel Matisz Robert Morris
56 Boston Greg Mahony Yale

57 Charlotte Joe Vitale Adelphi
58 Ohio Austin Bright Bellarmine
59 Rochester Tommy Wood North Carolina
60 Long Island Robert Campbell Stony Brook
61 Chesapeake John Austin Delaware
62 Denver Shane Jackson Limestone
63 Hamilton Gerry Reilly Georgetown
64 Boston Martin Bowes Hartford

(1) from Charlotte
(2) from Long Island
(3) from Boston
(4) from Rochester from Ohio
(5) from Chesapeake
(6) from Ohio from Rochester from Hamilton
(7) from Rochester
(8) from Rochester from Denver
(9) from Ohio
(10) from Rochester from Chesapeake



Latest Headlines

Final award winners from Nike’s @TheRideLax in Oregon; Griffin, Pezzulla are honored