follow us on...

Inside Lacrosse’s inaugural Powerball Lacrosse Tournament is huge success

Friday, 27th July 2012

Categories Boy's/Men's, Girl's/Women's, Posted 7/27/12
From Inside Lacrosse Release

Team Reebok Blacks Out Cancer won the Money Division to capture the $25,000 prize at Inside Lacrosse’s inaugural Powerball Lacrosse Tournament Saturday and Sunday at Richard Stockton College.

Twenty-two teams challenged for Powerball championships across three divisions. Baltimore-based Fruit Loops won the High Rollers Division (men’s open) title by defeating Twisted Fate of Maryland. The Fruit Loops featured a host of former MIAA players currently playing DI, including Deemer Class (Duke), Pat Powderly (Syracuse), Andrew Barton (Providence) and TJ Neubauer (Fairfield).

Lightning Wear (Maryland), featuring Tee Ladouceur (Syracuse), Ana Heneberry (Loyola), Abby Rehfuss (Loyola) and Kellye Gallagher (Loyola), scored two goals in the last 26 seconds to score a comeback victory over Cap City (Ohio) to win the Lady Luck Division (women’s open) championship.

Click here for a column on the event by Quint Kessenich of Inside Lacrosse.

In the Money Division, Reebok, comprised of former teammates of Kyle Miller and the late Chris Sanderson, won all five of its games. Sparked by Dan Dawson, Zack Greer, Mark Steenhuis, Matt Vinc, Billy Dee Smith and Pat Merrill and coached Sunday by Brodie Merrill, Reebok downed Flow Society 9-5 victory. Reebok will donate all of its prize money toward treatments for Miller and to Sanderson’s widow and children.

In Sunday’s semifinals of the Money Division, Reebok defeated, HEADstrong 10-2, and Flow Society toppled Motive Pure, 7-6, in overtime.

Reebok wasn’t the only team motivated by a worthy cause. Each of the eight teams in the Money Division had designated a charity for their winnings; the runner-up Flow Society team was comprised mostly of Chaminade players from schools like Notre Dame, Bucknell, Yale, UMass and Lafayette, who were playing to honor Chaminade and Duke grad Jimmy Regan and the Lead the Way Fund benefiting families of Army Rangers.

HEADstrong was playing to benefit the families of cancer patients through its HEADstrong Foundation, and other charitable causes included the Chris Sanderson Memorial Fund (Motive Pure), Sailing Heals (Liquid Flow) and the Greater Philadelphia Cancer Foundation (Beerwolves).

2012 Powerball Lacrosse Tournament All-Tournament Team

Position Player Team College
Attack Rob Forster HEADstrong Penn State
Attack Zack Greer Reebok Duke/Bryant
Attack Doug Knight Motive Pure Virginia
Attack Brendan Gibson Flow Society Yale
Attack Tom Perini Flow Society Lafayette
Attack Mike Watson Motive Pure Virginia

Midfield Ryan Cranston HEADstrong Lynchburg
Midfield Dan Deckelbaum Reebok Delaware
Midfield Will Harrington Reebok Towson
Midfield Mark Steenhuis Reebok Buffalo Bandits
Midfield Drew Thompson Motive Pure Virginia
Face-Off Andrew Hennessey Reebok Bryant

Defense Regis McDermott Flow Society Notre Dame
Defense Shawn Nadelen Reebok Johns Hopkins
Defense Billy Dee Smith Reebok Buffalo Bandits
Defense Julian Watts HEADstrong Hofstra
Defense Trey Whitty Motive Pure Virginia

Goal Rich D’Andrea Reebok Georgetown
Goal Tim McCormack Flow Society UMass

MVP: Dan Dawson, Reebok Blacks Out Cancer

2012 Powerball Lacrosse Tournament Champions

Money Division: Reebok Blacks Out Cancer
High Rollers Division: Fruit Loops
Lady Luck Division: Lightning Wear


Money Division
9:30 a.m.: Reebok 10, HEADstrong 2

11 a.m.: Flow Society 7, Motive Pure 6 (OT)

1 p.m. Championship: Reebok 9, Flow Society 5

High Rollers
9:30 a.m.: No. 1 Twisted Fate 13, No. 8 Centaurs 1

9:30 a.m.: No. 2 Fruit Loops 13, No. 7 Ruff Lax 5

11 a.m.: No. 4 Ruff Lax Two 7, No. 5 Market Basket 6

11 a.m.: No. 3 SS Vikings 9, No. 6 CNY Roadhawks 7

12:30 p.m. Semifinal: No. 1 Twisted Fate 8, No. 4 Ruff Lax Two 6

12:30 p.m. Semifinal: No. 2 Fruit Loops 10, No. 3 SS Vikings 5

2 p.m. Championship: No. 2 Fruit Loops 11, No. 1 Twisted Fate 7

Lady Luck
9:30 a.m.: No. 2 Lightning Wear 15, No. 3 Re-Lax 5

11 a.m.: No. 1 Cap City 15, No. 4 SINS 1

12:30 p.m. Third-Place Game: No. 3 Re-Lax 13, No. 4 SINS 5
2 p.m.
Final: No. 3 Lightning Wear 13, No. 1 Cap City 11


Latest Headlines