follow us on...

Tewaaraton Award: Maryland’s Schwarzmann (Century), Cornell’s Pannell earn highest honors

Thursday, 30th May 2013

Categories Uncategorized, Posted 5/30/13
From Press Release

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced Cornell University attackman Rob Pannell (Smithtown West, NY) and University of Maryland midfielder Katie Schwarzmann (Century) as the 2013 Tewaaraton Award winners, presented Thursday at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of the American Indian in Washington, D.C. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States.

Pannell completed one of the most decorated careers in college lacrosse, scoring a career-best 102 points to finish as the all-time leading scorer in NCAA history (354 points). He ranked third in the nation in points (5.67) and assists (3.06) per game, and registered at least one point in all 72 career games. A senior from Smithtown, N.Y., and a 2011 Tewaaraton finalist, Pannell earned a record third Ivy League Player of the Year and fourth first-team All-Ivy selection.

The winner of the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) Lt. Raymond J. Enners Award for Outstanding Player of the Year, Pannell led Cornell to the NCAA semifinals for the first time since 2010, scoring 22 points in three NCAA Tournament games. The four-time USILA All-American also holds the Big Red and Ivy League career scoring records.

Pannell joins Max Seibald (2009) as Cornell’s second men’s Tewaaraton Award winner. He is the second Ivy League representative and eighth attackman to win the men’s Tewaaraton Award. His 102 points this season are the most ever for a Tewaaraton Award winner.

Reigning Tewaaraton Award winner Katie Schwarzmann gave a marvelous encore in her senior season, earning first-team Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-America honors for a third consecutive year in addition to her second consecutive ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Tournament Most Outstanding Player selections. The four-time All-ACC midfielder from Sykesville, Md., continued her run as the nation’s premier two-way midfielder, leading Maryland in ground balls and ranking second on the team in goals, assists and points.

A member of the 2013 U.S. Women’s National Team, Schwarzmann earned her third consecutive IWLCA Midfielder of the Year award and led top-seeded Maryland to the NCAA title game. She finished her career ranked third all-time in program history in goals (228) and points (304).

Schwarzmann joins Kristen Kjellman (2006-07) and Hannah Nielsen (2008-09) as the third two-time women’s Tewaaraton Award winner. She is the Terrapins’ fourth winner, following Jen Adams (2001) and Caitlyn McFadden (2010) with her 2012 and 2013 honors. Schwarzmann is the sixth ACC representative and the ninth midfielder to earn the women’s Tewaaraton Award.

“We are excited to recognize Rob and Katie, who completed two of the more remarkable careers in college lacrosse history this season,” said Jeffrey Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “It was a joy to watch all 10 of our finalists compete, and we congratulate them all on an outstanding season.”

The five men’s finalists were Pannell, University of North Carolina attackman Marcus Holman, Syracuse University midfielder JoJo Marasco, Princeton University midfielder Tom Schreiber and University at Albany attackman Lyle Thompson.

The five women’s finalists were Schwarzmann, University of Maryland attacker Alex Aust, University of North Carolina midfielder Kara Cannizzaro, University of Florida goalie Mikey Meagher and Syracuse University attacker Alyssa Murray.

Finalists were selected from a pool of 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. The selection committees are comprised of 12 men’s and 10 women’s current and former college coaches.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Award, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at and

Tags: ,


Latest Headlines