follow us on...

Maryland girls lead Team Heather Leigh Albert to Vail Shootout U19 championship

Thursday, 4th July 2013

Categories Girl's/Women's, High school, Posted 7/4/13

Results Wednesday from the 41st Vail Shootout in the U19 Girls’ Bracket

Gold Bracket: Team HLA 17, PA Express 5

Team Heather Leigh Albert won the U19 girls' title at Vail

Team Heather Leigh Albert won the U19 girls’ title at Vail

Team HLA won its third straight championship with the impressive victory. HLA seized a quick 4-1 lead, but PA Express trailed by only two goals before Team HLA raced to an 11-3 halftime lead despite strong goaltending by PA Express’ McKenna Coyle (2014, Kennett, Penn State). Tournament MVP Zoe Stukenberg (2013, Marriotts Ridge, MD; Maryland) and Tess McEvoy (2013, Georgetown Visitation, DC; Yale) led the attack.

Team HLA coach Kathy Jenkins (St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, VA) praised her team and the efforts of PA Express, which was all underclassmen.

“They were not supposed to be the top competition for us, but their team played very well throughout the tournament,” Jenkins said. “Our club came together very quickly and worked well together. It was fun to watch.”

Team HLA roster
Gussie Johns, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, Va., USC
Maeve McMahon, Groton School, Mass., Harvard
Sophie Davidson, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, Va., Dartmouth
Besser Dyson, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, Va., UVA
Taylor Hensh, Marriotts Ridge, Md., Maryland
Kenzie Kent, Noble Greenough, Mass., BC
Emily Koufakis, Manhasset, N.Y., Stanford
Mollie Lane, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, Va., Brown
Tess McEvoy, Georgetown Visitation, DC, Stanford
Wyatt Whitley, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, Va., UVA
Ela Hazar, Westwood, Mass., UNC
MT Fogarty, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, Va., JMU
Cristina McCarthy, Ac of Holy Cross, MD., JMU
Kelly Myers, Georgetown Visitation, DC, Stanford
Marisa Romeo, Christian Brothers Ac., N.Y., Harvard
Zoe Stukenberg, Marriotts Ridge, MD., Maryland
Layne Voorhees, St. Stephen’s & St. Agnes, Va., Denver
Alex McKay, Marriotts Ridge, MD., Maryland

3rd Place: Team 180 17, Stars Blue 5

5th Place:
Utah Mamaci Elite 12, Puget Sound Select 10

7th Place: Wolverines 10, LaxNW Rippers 8

Final Rankings:
1st: Team HLA
2nd: PA Express
3rd: Team 180
4th: Stars Blue 2017
5th: Utah Mamaci Elite
6th: Puget Sound Select
7th: Wolverines
8th: LaxNW Rippers

Silver Bracket

Championship: Oregon Elite 13, Midwestern Force 5

3rd Place: Indy United 13, Utah Mamaci Black 12

5th Place: Denver Summit 9, Team Colorado 8 (OT)

7th Place: Boise River 8, MN Lakers Select 2017 5

Final Rankings:
1st: Oregon Elite
2nd: Midwestern Force
3rd: Indy Unted
4th: Utah Mamaci Black
5th: Denver Summit
6th: Team Colorado
7th: Boise River Lacrosse
8th: MN Lakers Select 2017

Bronze Pool
True Lacrosse MN 10, 3d Select 7
Aspen Girls 9, Utah Mamaci Gold 8
True Lacrosse MN 10 vs. Houston Heat 9

Final Rankings:
1st: True Lacrosse MN
2nd: Huston Heat
3rd: 3d Select
4th: Aspen Girls
5th: Utah Mamaci Gold

US Lacrosse – Keeper of Lacrosse Award: Utah Mamaci coaches: Katie Lock and Traci Shurtleff

All-Tournament Team
Lilly Newman – Oregon
Abigail Bergevin – Oregon
Jannel Daufenbach – Denver Summit
Shelby Piper – Team 180
Morgan Fee – Midwestern Force
Caroline Wiseman – Stars Blue
Devin Hassinger – PA Express
Katie O’Donnell – PA Express
Nicole Barretta – PA Express
Wyatt Whitley – Team HLA
Alex Mckay – Team HLA
Madeline Streech – Denver Summit
Zoe Stukenberg – Team HLA
Sean Albert – Team HLA


Latest Headlines