follow us on...

Chesapeake wins third MLL title in four years with 10-9 win over Charlotte

Sunday, 25th August 2013

Categories Boy's/Men's, Pro  

By Chris Goldberg, Posted 8/25/13

CHESTER, Pa. – John Grant Jr. scored four straight goals and was named game MVP in leading the Chesapeake Bayhawks to a 10-9 victory today over the Charlotte Hounds in the Major League Lacrosse championship game at PPL Park.

The MLL title was the second straight for Chesapeake and its third in four years.

John Grant Jr

John Grant Jr

Grant’s outburst turned a 2-2 game into a 6-2 lead. He scored one with one second left in the first quarter and another with one second left in the first half. The Hounds never got closer than two goals until Matt Danowski tossed in a 2-pointer at the buzzer.

Grant earned his fourth MLL crown in the past six years. He was on last year’s Chesapeake team and also won titles with Rochester (2008) and Toronto (2009).

“Every championship means something for different reasons,” said Grant, 38, who has the rare distinction of winning MLL, National Lacrosse League and Mann Cup (Canadian) championships as well as a World championship (for Canada). “I don’t put them in order but the older you get the more special they are

“People ask, ‘How do you keep playing?’ I got lucky to be called to this team two years ago – it’s a tremendous organization, from top to bottom I love being a Bayhawk and it was great to put it together this week.”

Also for Chesapeake, Drew Westervelt scored three goals and Malvern Prep grad Matt Mackrides (Penn State) added a goal and an assist.

Westervelt’s third tally came after Charlotte – the tourney’s fourth seed- had pulled within 9-7. Ryan Young led the Hounds with four goals and three assists.

Chesapeake also features assistant coach Tony Resch, the Associate Head Coach at La Salle and a former Wings great and coach for the Wings and Philadelphia Barrage.

The attendance was 3,792.

Game Notes:
Chesapeake’s Kip Turner went 14 for 22 in saves, earning a .636 save percentage in the game.
Three players completed hat tricks in the game, Drew Westervelt and John Grant Jr for the Bayhawks, and Ryan Young for the Hounds.
Championship MVP, John Grant Jr. scored four consecutive goals in the game, one in the first quarter, two in the second, and one last goal in the third. He would finish the game with four total points.
Adam Ghitelman, in goal for the Hounds made 9 saves, on 19 shots on goal.
Charlotte’s Ryan Young led their offense, tallying 7 points in the game, including four goals and three assists.
Just four players scored goals for the Hounds, while only five players tallied goals for the Bayhawks in the Championship game.
Both Drew Westervelt and John Grant Jr. would score four points in the game, leading the Bayhawks’ offense.
The 10-9 score ties the record for lowest score in a Championship Game. In 2009 Toronto defeated Denver and 2011 Boston beat Hamilton by the same score.


Latest Headlines