follow us on...

Inclement weather cancels final 3 @NLCLacrosse title games; three champs, six co-champs crowned

Thursday, 3rd July 2014

Categories Boy's/Men's, Brine NLC, Girl's/Women's, High school, Youth, Posted 7/3/14
Staff Report

Nine champions were crowned Thursdayat the Brine National Lacrosse Classic – including three outright champs and six co-champs – as inclement weather caused the cancellation of the final three title games shortly after their 2 p.m. starts at the Maryland Soccerplex.

Brine NLC officials were forced to call off the High School boys’ and girls’ and boys’ 2017 Division title games after a 40-minute delay. Maryland and Long Island shared the boys’ High School crown and Long Island shared the girls’ High School title with New Jersey, while Colorado and Maryland ar co-champions of the boys’ 2017 crown.Brine NLC

Earlier, Long Island defeated Maryland, 10-5, for the 2017 girls’ crown as Kelly George Garden City), Jillian Freeman (St. Anthony’s) and Rebecca Kinsley (Sacred Heart Academy) each had two goals and All-Star Game MVP Katie Kotowski (Cold Spring Harbor) had a goal and four assists.

In the Middle School Academy championships, Maryland downed Long Island, 10-2 as Isabelle Scane (Cranbrook Kingswood, MI), who was placed on the Maryland team since her region did not have a squad, had three goals. Erin Demek (Ellicott City, MD) had two goals and goalie Anastasia Dipeso (C. Milton Wright) had seven saves and did not yield a goal in the second half.

In the boys’ Middle School Academy final, Long Island pulled away from Texas with four goals to close out an 8-3 win. Nolen Rockefeller of St. Bernard’s School had two goals to lead the winners.

In years past the boys’ High School champion advances to the prestigious Brogden Cup against a Canadian All-Star team, but it was proposed that both Long Island and Maryland would be invited to participate in January’s Brogden Cup in Florida as part of a four-team round robin tourney with two Canadian teams.

We will have stories and details on all nine champions tomorrow.


Latest Headlines